About the Competition

The Noosa Arts Theatre National One-Act Playwriting Competition attracts entries from playwrights across Australia, New Zealand, the UK, USA, and other countries.

This playwriting competition offers a unique opportunity for the three finalist playwrights to see their new work performed on stage at the Noosa Arts Theatre during the One-Act Play Festival.

Scripts are judged anonymously by a local panel who prepare a shortlist.  The shortlisted scripts are then sent to a professional panel of 3 industry experts, who will also judge the scripts anonymously, give written assessments which are sent to the playwrights, and decide the 3 finalists. During the Festival, the audience is asked at each performance to vote for the ‘Nancy Cato Audience Choice Award’.  Presentations of Awards take place after the final performance.

1st place – the winner of The Eleanor Nimmo Prize for Best Play will take home $5,000.  We would like to thank our Major Sponsor, Mrs Eleanor Nimmo and the late Dr David Nimmo for their support of this initiative.

2nd place – $3,000 kindly donated by the Edythe Brook Cooper Trust

3rd place – $1,000 kindly donated by Susan Dearnley

The Nancy Cato Audience Choice Award is a cash prize of $500 donated by the Bronley Norman in memory of the late Nancy Cato.

Other awards are:
Best Actress – Margaret Courtney in memory of Marea Brown
Best Actor – Vernon Birch in memory of Val Warren
Best Director – Eileen Walder in memory of Neil McCarthy
Best Ensemble – Liza Park $500

For the Rules and Entry Form click [here]

NOTE: This competition is not restricted to Australian residents.

For more information, please email oapcomp@noosaartstheatre.org.au or phone 61 (0)7 5449 9343.